3 Players win Euro Tour Spots for 2016

T9B Dynamic Billard Euro Tour Qualifying School
T9B were proud to run this event for the third season. This event is part of the ongoing sponsorship deal with Dynamic Billard. This season we were able to offer three spaces to three different Euro Tour events. As these spaces were to be decided over one days play at High Wycombe Raging Ball venue we agreed there would be three separate tournaments for one entry fee this offering players maximum opportunity to qualify. The three events were, a race to seven rack handicap, a race to three rack scratch event and an exciting one rack double chance shoot-out. Prize money was available for the runner up of each event but the main prize was the ticket to a Euro Tour event of the winners choice and funding to help that player to there chosen event.

The event kicked off at 10.30am on Sunday 24th January 2016. First up was the one rack shoot-out as expected this event was very unpredictable with an anyone can win feel about it. By the Quarter Final stage it was just Ashik Nathwani who had both chances remaining but it was this round that we saw him defeated twice leaving the Semi Final line-up looking like this.

Zoltan Kojska v Lazlo Zsom
Michael Beeston v Mihail Mladinescu

Zoltan at this stage would has the favourite to hold his nerve and take the first Dynamic Billard Euro Tour place but as we all know the favourite doesn’t always prevail. Lazlo Zsom booked his place in his first ever T9B Final and he was joined by Mihail Mladinescu. The final was Hungary v Romania quite ironic with it being a Euro Tour qualifier. The final was a slow frame of 9ball with both players looking nervous. The Hungarian Lazlo Zsom potted the final 9ball after nearly 10mins and secured not only his first T9B event win but also a ticket with funding to make his debut on the European Circuit. Well Done Lazlo.

Event two was the race to three rack scratch event. This event was straight knockout so just one bite at the cherry. The Semi-Final of this event saw four of Total9ball’s best performers in action as Nick Hampton took Phil Wildman while Ashik Nathwani was up against Chris Seville. Nick didn’t break much sweat defeating a tired looking Phil Wildman 3v0. The other match however went to a final rack as Ashik and Chris were locked together at 2v2. Ashik took his chance well at hill-hill and advanced three racks to two.
So a great final was in store with all players surrounding the table to watch the excitement unfold. Ashik looked in top form as he ended the match 3v1. Well Done to Ashik as for the second year running he was won T9B Euro Tour sponsorship.

The Main Event was now upon us. This event was a standard race to seven but run using the T9B handicap system. Results from the last 16 are below.

Chris Parker 7v6 Mihail Mladnescu
Chris Seville 7v5 Phil Wildman
Nick Hampton 3v7 Michael Beeston
Ben George 7v4 Jaspal Bamotra
Wayne Rooke 7v6 Paul Morgan
Ricky Hatherley 3v7 Veso Papradanov
Boris Dolenc 5v7 Nigel Webb
Morray Dolan 7v4 Lee Happs

Chris Parker achieved the result of the Quarter Finals with a brilliant 7v1 win against Chris Seville, could this be the event were Chris Parker finally shows his class and wins an event? Wayne Rooke ended Veso Papradanov’s event 7v4. The final score between Ben George and Michael Beeston was 7v5 in favour of the Welshman Ben George. The last match of this round was settled with a tense hill-hill decider played out between Morray Dolan and Nigel Webb, it was Morray who joined Ben, Chris and Wayne in the Semi Final line-up.

So just four players remained One of whom was Ben George the winner of the 2016 T9B Search For A Star event just 2 weeks earlier at the same venue. Could he make it two from two at T9B events? Standing in his was in the Semi-Final was Chris Parker, a really close match was expected but this didn’t materialise as Ben George ran out a convincing winner 7v3. The other Semi-Final involving Morray Dolan and Wayne Rooke ended 7v4 in favour of Wayne.

So here we go its final time, Ben George vs Wayne Rooke whose your money on? If while reading this you said to yourself Ben George then you would be correct. Ben moved into top gear defeating Wayne Rooke 7v4. A massive well Done to Ben who has now won both T9B events he has attended.

Another great event and three different event winners. Each winner will also receive entry into the end of season Champion Of Champions Event.

Thanks to our Sponsors, County Engraving, Dynamic Billard, Raging Ball, Talismann Tips and Z9. Also a special mention to Sharon Allingham for helping our behind the desk to keep the event running smoothly